Wilson Weekly

This week was an important week for The Wilsons Vintage, full of exciting news and new things to come. Life feels good, and this sunny weather only accentuates the sunny horizons I have in mind. Let’s make this week, a week of appreciation and expansion.

WEBSITE LAUNCH

You should have normally received two emails last week about my website, one announcing the launch and the other guiding you through it with detailed information about every page and section.

If you haven’t read them yet, simply go to the link below and you’ll get access to them.

After all the initial joy and excitement of the launch, I have lately been working on improving my website thanks to the feedback you have kindly given me and various adjustments I have noticed were needed. It’s a constant work in progress, but what a fulfilling feeling it brings me!

GALERIES LAFAYETTE RESTOCK

A 12kg parcel of 42 vintage gems was sent off on Tuesday as a restock for the Galeries Lafayette store in Paris. It included delicate lingerie, essential jackets and blazers, luxury items, handbags, summer dresses and beautiful gowns which would be perfect to wear as a wedding guest or to attend a ball or prom party. I am also planning to send off one or two vintage wedding dresses for the prime season.

I have filmed the process of packing the items and will edit the video soon.

NEW VINTAGE SELECTION

I have been busy recently curating my newest vintage selection, ironing all the items carefully, taking all the measurements and taking flat photos.

Here’s a sneak peek of a few items from the collection.

I have also been testing out different backdrops for my photoshoots on set.

As a result, I have photographed a pink blazer and skirt in one backdrop and 5 black dresses in another, as you may see with the photos below.

In all honesty, I was not entirely satisfied with either backdrops for the moment so I’ll keep trying new ones out.

I am looking into eventually investing in a professional backdrop and lighting for my photos for an optimal professional look on set. This is of course essential for my brand identity to keep the same high quality and aesthetic for my exterior photos as well as for my interior photos. I’ll keep you informed of the progress.

With the black dresses I photographed above, I created and edited 6 short form videos to be posted on my social media this week. You’ll find the first one published below. Feel free to follow me on Instagram, TikTok or Youtube (YouTube Shorts) as I’ll be posting them there and the content varies slightly.

@thewilsonsvintage

Bringing some serious BW 90s inspo today 🖤 #90soutfitinspo #90sstyleicons #90sstylingvid #bwstyle #blackandwhiteoutfitideas #fashionvide

As well as doing photos on set, we have been photographing a few vintage items in the beautiful countryside surrounding us in the South of France. Be prepared for some “cottage core” and “chic lady get away” vibes…

Here’s a sneak peek at the first photo I have edited.

NEW YOUTUBE VIDEO

At the end of April, I sent out a newsletter all about the colour red in popular, fashion and cinema culture which you’ll find below if you haven’t read it yet:

I decided to film a video complimentary to it for my Youtube channel. In this video, I am including some film extracts from some of the references mentioned in my newsletter as well as newly added ones. I have just started editing it. Stay tuned!

On this positive note, I would like to wish you a lovely and fulfilling week!

All the best,

Jamila Xx