Brand announcement and fashion survey!!

Today I’d like to announce something I’ve been working on backstage for a few months now, those who follow me on Instagram already know…

I AM WORKING ON MY FIRST FASHION COLLECTION EVER!!

I am creating it all myself from my own ideas and designs and will be working with skilled pattern makers and manufactures to make them come to life, all of which is in process… This has been something I have wanted to do since I was a little girl so it feels like a fabulous journey to be on!

It is both exciting and daunting to be on this path with so many things to figure out. I trust it’ll all go for the better and I am taking my time to research, test and do things correctly.

If you’d like to watch the announcement video, click on the clip below

My clothing brand has its roots in the knowledge about fashion I have acquired through the years as well as all the personal insights and conclusions I have obtained from trying so many vintage clothes on for my brand The Wilsons Vintage and seeing what is most flattering, what makes a garment feel like a nice quality and what details make all the difference.

This brand is dedicated to women with a desire to make them feel beautiful, elegant and confident in the clothes they wear.

As a woman creating for women, I know the troubles some of us face with clothes not fitting quite well (being too large at the waist, a bit too tight or loose around the neck, etc.) and the fact a range of different women with slightly different body shapes will all fit a size S for instance. With this in mind, I am doing my best to include details in the designs which should make the clothes fit nicely.

I have created a short survey to know more about your experience and preferences regarding clothing brands and fashion in general. This will allow me to create a brand closer to you and will also give you an interesting insight on your personal relation with fashion. 😉 

Click here or on the phone below to participate in the survey.

I am in awe of the nonchalant elegance depicted in vintage movies and the way it seems to simply be part of a lifestyle and a way of being in society. A form of comfort, simplicity mixed with feminine cuts, classic lines and a dash of confidence seem to be the recipe to the ultimate elegance in clothing.

With an inspiration from those beautiful vintage silhouettes with a modern twist, I would like to make this a motto for my brand

“LET’S COME BACK TO ELEGANCE”.

A Meditarrean Chic Capsule Collection

For my first collection, I am inspired by soft holidays by the sea, bathed in the sun and enjoying the Dolce Vita lifestyle. I’d like to procure that feeling with a capsule collection that will keep you feeling chic at all times from daytime boat trips to sunset cocktail parties!

The collection emanated from my atmospheric moodboard consisting of various stripes, postcards from summer holidays, a poem about the “lines of life”, a dynamic energy blended in with softness and a poetic touch, and references to 50s fashion as well as icons like Marilyn Monroe, Audrey Hepburn, Brigitte Bardot, Sophia Loren and Jacqui Kennedy!

Original creation of the “Riviera Moodboard” by Jamila Wilson. All Rights Reserved.

A Collection defined by you

My brand and this collection are curated with you in mind, my followers who inspire me and push me to always do better. I’d like to be transparent with this brand and take you along the journey with me, giving you the chance to actually participate and be part of the brand.

I have created a WhatsApp community group chat in which I’ll share exclusive backstages and information before sharing it elsewhere, you’ll get to vote in polls and have a place where you can discuss together with like minded people as well as share your feedback, insights and preferences.

Ps: If you have anyone in your entourage (in fashion/marketing/anything really you might find related) you think I should be in contact with, feel free to send me a message on instagram or answer this mail.

Thank you for reading and being part of this community.

Just remember to believe in yourself and your dreams and go for it!!!

All the best,

Jamila